Banjo-Dulcimer

Help for new mountain dulcimer players of all ages!

Banjo-Dulcimer

Postby Littlejoe » Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:06 am

Hello, I am new to the dulcimer world. I have been picking around on the banjo for years.I have never really got the hang of it. I love the sound of a Banjo, so I just ordered a Banjo-Dulcimer from Dulcimers by JR. I have never played one before. I was told it is easy to play. I really enjoy this forum and know I will learn alot. :D
Littlejoe
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)

Re: Banjo-Dulcimer

Postby KenH » Wed Feb 20, 2013 9:32 am

Welcome LittleJoe! One thing to be aware of is that there is virtually nothing written specifically for banjimer. banjammer, banjo-dulcimer, whatever name you use. It is normally played flat on your lap like any other dulcimer,strummed or fingerpicked with the right hand and noted or chorded with the left. All discussions of left and right hand technique, tuning, etc. apply.

You may want to check out an article I wrote here a few years ago called I Just Got A Dulcimer, Now What? It's an illustrated glossary of dulcimer terms, plus answers to many beginner questions about tuning, playing, care and feeding of your new BFF. ED's article section is under re-construction right now, but you can read the article here:
http://mountaindulcimer.ning.com/profil ... r-now-what
KenH
Dulcified! (>2000 posts)

Postby strumelia » Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:58 am

Generally speaking, a banjo-dulcimer or dulci-banjo, whatever the name, is simply a dulcimer with a skinhead, to give it a banjo like sound. However, it is not normally played like a banjo, it has no short thumb string drone and while one can imitate the sound of clawhammer on it, you can't really play it using banjo techniques. The bouncing off the thumb string, drop-thumbing etc, is what gives a banjo it's very special rhythm.