Learning to play by ear

Help for new mountain dulcimer players of all ages!

Learning to play by ear

Postby mhartfield » Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:10 pm

Hi all,

Can anyone suggest a good resource, online, DVD or otherwise, for picking up some rudimentary "play by ear" skills.

As a beginner, I'm finding myself getting frustrated at the dulcimer clubs I've been attending because I know so little of the repetoire that I can't do much other than play chords, or try to learn the song quickly by watching someone's hands during the A/B parts to see if I can pick up the patterns. My right and left hand aren't enough in sync yet that the latter option (learning on the fly) works very well yet :-).

I have an excellent memory for tunes and intervals due to years of singing, I can probably reel off a few hundred folk songs, hymns and gospel tunes (I have fond memories of leading fellow troublemakers in songs during a few protest marches in my misspent youth :-) ). What I don't have is perfect pitch or a great sense of where all of the notes in the tune lie on my dulcimer :| . I'm sure I'll get better with that as I get more practice at Jam sessions, but I'm starting to get the sense that my individual practice time might be better spent trying to improve my familiarity with the sounds of the instrument rather than working on memorizing repetoire, at least for a while.

Of course, there's that whole getting the right hand and left hand working together thing, but I think that will get better however I practice.

Thanks,
Matt
mhartfield
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)

Re: Learning to play by ear

Postby Banjimer » Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:50 pm