Dulcimer capo

All strummers welcome!

Dulcimer capo

Postby Guitar Jim » Wed May 11, 2005 3:02 am

I've never used a dulcimer capo before. I have one on order which I'll receive with my new Tom Yocky dulcimer. It's a Ewing capo. I notice from the picture that it has what seems like a screw type adjustment thingy on it's side that enables you to clamp it tightly against the dulcimer's fingerboard sides. My question is about "downward" pressure against the fingerboard's top. I assume when you attach the capo that you press down hard on the capo's top to ensure reasonable "downward" pressure on the strings, and then clamp the capo, using the adjustable screw thingy, to the fingerboard's side. Is this the way that the Ewing capo works? Or does the side adjuster also create some "downward" pressure as well? Thanks.
Guitar Jim
Senior Mbr (101-500 posts)

Postby Guitar Jim » Wed May 11, 2005 3:06 am

Hey, I've just noticed I'm now a "senior" member. I feel old!
Guitar Jim

Postby missy » Wed May 11, 2005 6:54 am

yep - you push down, then screw. Missy
missy
Dulcified! (>2000 posts)

Postby kwl » Wed May 11, 2005 9:09 am

Missy, I just read your reply and can't stop laughing! LOL! LOL! LOL! LOL! LOL! LOL! LOL!
kwl
Dulcified! (>2000 posts)

Postby missy » Wed May 11, 2005 10:05 am

yeah - I thought of that after I hit reply, but what the heck! Missy
missy
Dulcified! (>2000 posts)

Postby Tom » Wed May 11, 2005 12:22 pm

Originally posted by kwl Missy, I just read your reply and can't stop laughing! LOL! LOL! LOL! LOL! LOL! LOL! LOL!
No comment from me, Ken!EEK! Tom
Tom
Dulcified! (>2000 posts)

Postby SMO » Wed May 11, 2005 1:00 pm