Finger Picking vs Strumming

All strummers welcome!

Finger Picking vs Strumming

Postby fhonehome » Fri Sep 11, 2009 4:10 pm

I've recently learned to finger pick my dulcimer as opposed to strumming. I use a thumb pick to pluck the melody string and then pick the middle and base strings with my index and middle fingers. I also experiment with fretting chords with my left hand as I pick the melody string and pluck the others. Personally, I like the sound the instrument produces better that it does when strummed. My biggest problem, though, is determining how to handle longer notes in a song; how many strings to pluck and how often; etc.-you get the idea.
Nevertheless, I'm a novice. I would appricate learning what you other folks think about finger picking in general; what other fingering methods you use; how do you handle, for instance, a whole note as opposed to a quarter note; any thoughts, tips and techniques that you know-you get the idea free range the thoughts.
fhonehome
Junior Mbr (0-50 posts)

Re: Finger Picking vs Strumming

Postby zanetti » Fri Sep 11, 2009 4:38 pm

I LOVE fingerpicking! There's something about getting to touch the strings with both hands that helps me feel very "in touch" with the instrument. And I love the gentle, mellow sound that comes with fingerpicking (especially bare finger style).

I'm not entirely sure what you mean by the "handle longer notes". If you mean how to fill in the "spaces" (that otherwise would be filled with strums), what you can do is alternate in picking the different notes of the last chord (this is called playing an arpeggiated chord).

I posted a bit on fingerpicking in response to a similar question last month, and will copy it below.

Postby zanetti » Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:12 pm
First, I'll mention a couple of ideas that I always present when teaching workshops on fingerpicking, and then a couple of references for resources at the end of the post.

Issues relating to fingerpicking:

FIrst: